CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Local Authority School Governor Appointments Panel held on Friday, 5th June, 2015 at Committee Suite 1 & 2, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

PRESENT

Councillor G Williams (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors A Harewood, D Mahon and L Smetham

Officers

Cherrie Creager, Schools Settings and Services Paul Mountford, Democratic Services

Apologies

Councillors G Merry and G Walton

1 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

There were no members of the public present.

2 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

Councillors Harewood, Mahon and Smetham declared non-pecuniary interests in relation to applications from Councillor Laura Jeuda and former Councillor Shirley Jones.

3 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED

That the minutes of the meeting held on 6th February 2015 be confirmed as a correct record.

4 TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Panel considered its terms of reference.

RESOLVED

That the terms of reference be noted.

5 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED

That the public and press be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, in pursuant to Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing this information.

6 LOCAL AUTHORITY APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

The Panel considered the Director's report on vacancies within Cheshire East maintained schools and academies and the applications received for nomination, appointment and re-appointment to identified posts.

Additional information was tabled at the meeting in respect of one new appointment and one re-appointment.

RESOLVED

That, having regard to the new statutory guidance in making all appointments and nominations, the Panel approves the following:

Nominations for re-appointment

DEAN VALLEY COMMUNITY PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Maggie Swindells 03/09/2015

EGERTON PRIMARY SCHOOL

Christopher Johnson 22/10/2015

CHRIST THE KING CATHOLIC AND CHURCH OF ENGLAND PRIMARY SCHOOL

Cllr Laura Jeuda

Nominations for appointment

BRIERLEY PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Zoe Ibottson

ALSAGER HIGHFIELDS COMMUNITY PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Shirley Jones

7 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Friday, 23rd October 2015.

The meeting commenced at 10.30 am and concluded at 11.05 am Councillor G Williams (Vice-Chairman)